领英大福的可持续发展——过去、现在和未来

  • 2022 年 10 月 4 日
  • 日本

配合大福网站可持续发展部分于 9 月 30 日更新,我们采访了大福可持续发展促进部的河田英司(Eiji Kawada),了解他对大福可持续发展的见解。在采访中,河田介绍了大福的可持续发展历史、举措和进一步关注的领域。

采访者:大福历史悠久,您能告诉我们关于大福可持续发展的历史吗?

河田:自创业以来,我们一直通过事业为社会做出贡献,关爱地球环境,努力创造有回报的工作场所。例如,我们在 1999 年获得了滋贺和小牧工厂的 ISO14001 认证; 2010年成立环境管理强化委员会,从管理层面解决环境问题;然后我们在 2011 年制定了大福环境愿景2020;然后在 2012 年引入了大福环保产品认证系统。

如果我们更进一步,2020 年环境管理增强委员会更名为可持续发展委员会。 2021年,我们制定了可持续发展行动计划;大福环境愿景2050,是我刚才提到的2020版本的后续倡议;和大福公司人权政策。有关这些的详细信息,请参阅大福网站的可持续发展部分。

前瞻性的方法

采访者:很明显,我们已经参与了很多倡议。是什么帮助推动了这些努力发展到现在?

河田:虽然我们的许多初始举措都更加关注环境,但多年来突出企业社会责任 (CSR) 以及最近的 ESG(环境、社会和治理)和可持续发展目标 (SDG)我们的努力已经扩大到包括气候变化、人权、多样性和合规性在内的多个领域,我们已经开始着眼于未来来看待我们的可持续性。

Value Transformation 2023和可持续发展行动计划

采访者:关于 ESG 和 SDGs,我们的应对策略是什么?我们目前在做什么?

河田:我们Value Transformation 2023的两年业务计划和我们的可持续发展行动计划定位为我们管理战略的两大支柱,并将通过其实施为实现可持续发展目标做出贡献。可持续发展行动计划包括五个主题和 18 个实质性(重要问题):“为智能社会做贡献”、“保持和提高产品和服务质量”、“加强运营框架”、“尊重个体”和“通过商业为环境做出贡献。”

可持续发展行动计划

可持续发展行动计划的五个主题

采访者:我们如何衡量我们在这些方面的成功?

河田:我们为每一项设置了在两年内衡量的 KPI。 KPI 和我们的进展在大福网站上披露。

倡议

采访者:您能介绍一下我们参与的具体举措吗?

河田:嗯,对于“为智能社会做贡献”这个主题,“通过智能物流满足客户需求”这一主题具有实质性,这是与我们的业务直接相关的目标。随着自动化和复杂物流的全球趋势加速,我们预计将看到越来越多的投资来解决劳动力短缺和提高生产力。通过开发新的尖端物料搬运技术,我们正在进一步增加我们为利益相关者提供的价值。

就“尊重个体”这一主题而言,我们有“保护员工健康和安全”的物质性,通过它我们努力消除工作场所事故。我们正在通过实施教育和安全培训中心来支持这一目标。另一个物质性是“尊重人权。”我们必须确保与我们业务相关的所有人的权利。为此,我们目前正在制定人权尽职调查制度。

安全体验馆是大福在日本的安全培训中心。大福所有成员和合作伙伴公司的成员可以使用包括 VR 和专用机器在内的一系列工具参加许多安全培训模拟。

在“通过业务为环境做贡献”的主题下,我们通过实施节能措施和可再生能源,并通过大福环保产品认证制度扩大我们的环保产品和服务范围,设定了二氧化碳减排率,旨在达到这一目标。

滋贺工厂的大福太阳能发电系统。
大福环保产品认证制度根据环境影响评估等级和使用大福自身标准的认证体系对产品进行认证。

展望未来

采访者:从可持续发展的角度来看,我们希望在未来 1-5 年内更加关注哪些领域,我们如何接近这些领域?

河田:刚才提到的“尊重人权”这一实质性要求不仅在大福公司内部,而且在我们的整个供应链中都需要考虑人权。人权尽职调查系统对于帮助我们识别和评估与我们业务的任何部分(包括供应链)相关的负面人权影响以及纠正、减轻和预防这些影响是必要的。如果很明显我们已经造成或促成了负面的人权影响,我们将确保采取适当和有效的补救措施。

大福:人权

另一个主题是我们的生物多样性倡议。人们担心商业活动可能会破坏自然环境并破坏生态系统。作为这一点的一项措施,我们继续实施我们的 “绿色工厂项目”,这是我们日本滋贺工厂的一项生物多样性保护计划。我们还在研究如何将这一举措扩展到所有子公司,并进一步深化我们对生物多样性和自然资本的承诺。

大福:环境管理

“绿色休憩空间(Yui no Mori)“ - 大福滋贺工厂内的森林区域,是红松树和日本云蝾螈等本土动植物保护和保护活动的重点。该区域还作为学习自然环境的场所使用。
通过保护池塘支持濒临灭绝的日本云蝾螈的繁殖。
除了 700 多种本地物种外,滋贺工厂还存在 50 种濒临灭绝和稀有物种。

可持续性部分更新

采访者:最后,您能告诉我们关于大福网站可持续发展部分的更新吗?

河田:更新旨在改善网站的信息和可访问性,以更好地满足利益相关者的需求。我之前提到的倡议和活动都记录在网站上,我们继续以确保透明度和原创性的方式披露信息。我希望我们网站的访问者能够查看可持续性部分,以了解更多关于大福的可持续发展举措。

大福可持续发展科

河田英司

河田英司

Daifuku Co., Ltd.可持续发展推进组高级经理
在获得工业设计学位后,河田英司 在一家印刷公司开始了他的职业生涯,在那里他参与了公司宣传册和相关材料的制作、编辑和指导。 2008年加入大福,在企业传讯部工作。 2016年加入CSR推进部(现可持续发展推进部),参与可持续发展、ESG和SDGs相关活动,以提高大福的长期企业价值。

在领英上关注我们。 查看所有帖子

联系我们

如需产品咨询,请点击“联系我们”。

联系我们

通过电话

联系我们

如需产品咨询,请点击“联系我们”。

联系我们(English)

通过电话

LinkedInDaifuku's Sustainability – Past, Present, and Future

  • Oct 4, 2022
  • JAPAN

In line with the renewal of the sustainability section of the Daifuku website on September 30th, we interviewed Eiji Kawada of Daifuku’s Sustainability Promotion Department to get his insights on sustainability at Daifuku. In the interview, Kawada introduces Daifuku’s sustainability history, initiatives, and areas for further focus.

Interviewer: Daifuku has a long history, but what can you tell us about the history of sustainability at Daifuku?

Kawada: Since our foundation, we have been contributing to society through our business, caring for the global environment, and striving to create a rewarding workplace. For example, our acquisition of ISO14001 certification for our Shiga and Komaki sites in 1999; the establishment of the Environmental Management Enhancement Committee in 2010, which we formed to address environmental issues from a management level; then we have the formulation of the Daifuku Environmental Vision 2020 in 2011; and then the introduction of the Daifuku Eco Products Certification System in 2012.

If we bring it even closer, in 2020 the Environmental Management Enhancement Committee was renamed to the Sustainability Committee. In 2021, we formulated our Sustainability Action Plan; Daifuku Environmental Vision 2050, which is the successor initiative of the 2020 version I just mentioned; and the Daifuku Group Human Rights Policy. Details on these are available on the sustainability section of the Daifuku website.

Forward-thinking approach

Interviewer: Clearly there a lot of initiatives that we are and have been involved in. What has helped drive the evolution of those efforts to where they are now?

Kawada: While many of our starting initiatives were more focused on the environment, with the prominence of corporate social responsibility (CSR), and more recently ESG (environmental, social, and governance) and the Sustainability Development Goal (SDGs), over the years our efforts have widened to encompass a number of areas including climate change, human rights, diversity, and compliance, and we have begun to look at our sustainability with an eye toward the future.

Value Transformation 2023 and Sustainability Action Plan

Interviewer: On the point of ESG and the SDGs, what is our strategy in response to those? What are we engaged in currently?

Kawada: We have positioned our Two-year business plan Value Transformation 2023 and our Sustainability Action Plan as the two pillars of our management strategy and will contribute to achieving the SDGs through their implementation. The Sustainability Action Plan consists of five themes and 18 materialities (important issues): "contribute to a smart society," "maintain and improve the quality of products and services," "enhance operational framework," "respect human dignity," and "contribute to the environment through business.”

Sustainability Action Plan

Five themes of the Sustainability Action Plan

Interviewer: How are we measuring our success on these points?

Kawada: For each we set KPIs that are measured over a Two-year period. The KPIs and our progress are disclosed on the Daifuku website.

Initiatives

Interviewer: Can you introduce specific initiatives that we are involved in?

Kawada: Well, for the "contribute to a smart society" theme there is a materiality of "cater to customer needs through smart logistics," which is a goal directly related to our business. As the global trend toward automation and complex logistics accelerates, we expect to see more and more investment to solve labor shortages and improve productivity. We are further increasing the value we provide to stakeholders through the development of new, cutting-edge material handling technologies.

In terms of the theme "respect human dignity,” we have the materiality “protect employee health and safety,” through which we strive to eradicate workplace accidents. We are supporting this goal through the implementation of education and safety training centers. Another materiality is “respect human rights.” We must ensure the rights of all people connected to our business. To that end, we are currently developing a human rights due diligence system.

The Anzen Taikan Dojo is Daifuku’s safety training center in Japan. Daifuku Group members and those from partner companies can take part in a number of safety training simulations using a range of tools, including VR and specialized machines.

Under the "contribute to the environment through our business" theme, we set a CO2 emission reduction rate that we aim to meet by implementing energy-saving initiatives and renewable energy, and by expanding our range of environmentally friendly products and services through our Daifuku Eco-Products Certification Program.

Daifuku’s Mega Solar, a photovoltaic system, at Shiga Works.
The Daifuku Eco-Products Certification Program certifies products based on environmental impact assessment ratings and a certification system using Daifuku’s own standards.

Looking to the future

Interviewer: From a sustainability perspective, what are some areas that we want to apply more focus on over the next 1-5 years and how are we approaching those?

Kawada: The materiality "respect human rights" mentioned just a moment ago requires consideration of human rights not only within the Daifuku Group but for our entire supply chain. A human rights due diligence system is necessary to help us identify and assess negative human rights impacts related to any part of our business, including the supply chain, and to correct, mitigate, and prevent them. If it becomes clear that we have caused or contributed to a negative human rights impact, we will ensure that appropriate and effective remedial measures are taken.

Daifuku: Human Rights

Another topic is our biodiversity initiatives. There is concern that business activities could damage the natural environment and degrade ecosystems. As a measure for that point, we continue to engage with our Yui Project, a biodiversity conservation initiative at our Shiga site in Japan. We are also looking at how we can expand this initiative to the entire group and further deepen our commitment to biodiversity and natural capital.

Daifuku: Environmental Management

Yui no Mori – a forested area within Daifuku’s Shiga Works that is the focus of conservation and preservation activities for native fauna and flora, such as red pine trees and Japanese clouded salamanders. The area also acts as an educational tool for visitors.
Breeding of the endangered Japanese clouded salamander is supported through a conservation pond.
Along with over 700 native species, 50 endangered and rare species exist within Shiga Works.

Sustainability section renewal

Interviewer: Lastly, can you tell us about the renewal of the sustainability section of the Daifuku website?

Kawada: The renewal was aimed at improving the message and accessibility of the site to better meet the needs of our stakeholders. The initiatives and activities I mentioned earlier are all documented on the site, and we continue to disclose information in a manner that ensures transparency and originality. I hope that visitors to our website will check out the sustainability section to learn more about Daifuku’s approach.

Daifuku Sustainability Section

Eiji Kawada

Eiji Kawada

Sr. Manager, Sustainability Promotion Group, Daifuku Co., Ltd.
After obtaining a degree in industrial design, Eiji Kawada started his career at a printing company, where he was in involved in the production, editing, and direction of corporate brochures and related materials. In 2008, he joined Daifuku and worked in the Corporate Communications Department. In 2016, he joined the CSR Promotion Department (now Sustainability Promotion Department) and is involved in activities related to sustainability, ESG, and the SDGs toward improving Daifuku's long-term corporate value.

Follow us on LinkedIn. View all posts

Contact Us

For product inquiries, please reach out to us via our Contact Us page.

Contact Us

BY TELEPHONE

Contact Us

For product inquiries, please reach out to us via our Contact Us page.

Contact Us(English)

BY TELEPHONE