领英为未来做准备?考虑漫长的比赛

  • 2021 年 2 月 8 日

实施增强的供应链战略以支持数字化可能会导致短期痛苦,但长期收益既明确又可衡量。

澳大利亚在 2020 年见证了破纪录的在线消费习惯,远远超出任何人的预期。 2020 年 3 月,在宣布全球大流行之后,在线销售开始飙升,原因是由于实施封锁而在家中的人数增加。这不仅导致我们购买的东西发生了巨大的变化,而且导致了购买方式的巨大变化。

初步统计

  • 3 月 11 日世界卫生组织宣布 COVID-19 为大流行病
  • 接下来的一周,在线销售额同比增长 28%
  • 复活节后一周在线销售额同比增长 135%*
从上述数据来看,2020 年平均每周有 250 万家庭在线购买商品,而 2019 年为 160 万家庭。*

尽管最初的限制在一年中开始放松,但电子商务趋势并没有恢复到最初的“正常”状态。在 2020 年 3 月至 2020 年 11 月期间,在线总销售额已上升至 50% 以上,并在年度网络销售期间持续到 12 月,导致每月平均同比增长 45%。

近几个月来,人们对数字零售支出的未来进行了很多猜测,其中一些人将 2020 年的电子商务时期定义为即将到来的事物的加速器。其他人则更为保守,表示最近的趋势只是一个例外,而不是规则——将不确定性带入供应链应该是什么样子以及它们应该有多灵活。

我的观点与上述观点有些矛盾,因为我认为,更广泛地说,经常被视为 COVID 故事的内容更广泛地是电子商务故事。
为什么你可能会问?

围绕在线零售的波动性、寿命和不确定性早在 COVID 之前就已经存在,并将在之后很长时间内继续存在。唯一一致且可靠的趋势是持续的不确定性。那么,如果消费者支出和客户忠诚度甚至连最精明的经济学家都感到困惑,那么企业如何为未来做准备呢?

最糟糕的决定是优柔寡断

在整个供应链的任何环境或变量中,都需要果断地采取行动,否则就有被甩在后面的风险。根据我的经验,我目睹了许多过于谨慎地承诺大幅增加数字估算的公司,随后很快被竞争对手所取代。

实施增强的供应链战略以支持数字化可能会导致一些短期的痛苦;然而,长期收益既明确又可衡量。对于任何正在制定未来数字计划的公司,我的建议是加快这一进程,符合以下规定。

  • 尽早与行业专家合作,协助规划和衡量以确保成功。
  • 了解手动与自动的阈值。
  • 设定可能存在短期痛苦的预期,并实施战略和沟通以支持更广泛的业务。

毫无疑问,采取行动和投资的决定可能是极其繁重和复杂的。然而,我经常观察到的结论是,在电子商务不确定性不变的环境中,替代方案的风险更高。

有关如何优化供应链的更多信息,请联系我们的业务解决方案专家。

科里桑德斯

科里桑德斯

Intralogistics OCEANIA 内部物流执行总经理
Cory 于 2010 年在大福开始了他的职业生涯,曾担任过各种不同的职务,包括业务交付、供应链、工程和销售。此后,这种形成性的背景导致 Cory 晋升为企业内的高级职位,并因其卓越的领导能力而受到认可。 Cory 的职责要求他对解决方案开发、战略、业务开发、项目实现以及为内部物流市场提供持续的服务和支持进行端到端的所有权。

关于大福大洋洲

公司成立于 1993 年,原名 BCS Group Ltd.,2014 年加入大福集团,2020 年更名为大福大洋洲。大福大洋洲总部位于新西兰,并在澳大利亚设有办事处。

了解更多

References:

在领英上关注我们。 查看所有帖子

联系我们

如需产品咨询,请点击“联系我们”。

联系我们

通过电话

联系我们

如需产品咨询,请点击“联系我们”。

联系我们(English)

通过电话

LinkedInPreparing for the future? Think the long game

  • Feb 8, 2021

Implementing an enhanced supply chain strategy to support digital can result in short-term pain, however, long-term benefits are both clear and measurable.

Australia witnessed recording-breaking online spending habits in 2020, well beyond anyone’s expectations. In March 2020, upon the global pandemic declaration, online sales began to soar, driven by an increase of people being homebound due to imposed lockdowns. This resulted in drastic changes to not only what we buy, but how.

Initial statistics

  • 11 March World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a pandemic
  • The following week saw online sales up 28% YOY
  • Online sales reach 135% YOY in the week after Easter*
To put the above figures into perspective, an average of 2.5 million households purchased something online each week in 2020, compared to 1.6 million households in 2019.*

Even as initial restrictions began to ease throughout the course of the year, the e-commerce trend did not return to its original “normal”. Between the months of March to November 2020, total online sales had risen to well over 50%, continuing into December during the annual cyber sales, resulting in a monthly average increase of 45% year on year.

Much has been speculated about the future of digital retail spending in recent months, with some defining the e-commerce period of 2020 as the accelerant for what was always to come. Others are more conservative, indicating the recent trends are an exception only, not the rule – driving uncertainty into what supply chains should look like and how agile they should be.

My belief is somewhat of a contradiction to the above, in that what has been frequently contextualized as a COVID story, I believe, to be more broadly, an e-commerce story.
Why you might ask?

Volatility, longevity, and uncertainty surrounding online retail have existed well before COVID and will continue well after. The only consistent and reliable trend is continuing uncertainty. So, if consumer spending and customer loyalty have confounded even the most adept economists, how are businesses to prepare for the future?

The worst decision is indecision

Consistent within any environment or variables across the supply chain is the need to act decisively or risk being left behind. In my experience, I have witnessed many companies who have been overly cautious to commit to ambitious increases in digital estimates, subsequently be swiftly superseded by their competitors.

Implementing an enhanced supply chain strategy to support digital can result in some short-term pain; however, the long-term gains are both clear and measurable. For any companies who have a future digital plan in progress, my advisement would be to expedite this, in line with the following.

  • Engage with industry specialists early to assist in planning and measurement to ensure success.
  • Understand your thresholds of manual vs. automatic.
  • Set expectations that there may be short-term pain and implement strategies and communication to support the broader business.

The decision to act and invest can, without a doubt, be incredibly onerous and complex. However, the conclusion of what I have frequently observed is that the alternative is a higher risk in an unchanged environment of e-commerce uncertainty.

For more information on how to optimize your supply chain, contact our Business Solutions Specialists.

Cory Saunders

Cory Saunders

Executive General Manager of Intralogistics, DAIFUKU OCEANIA
Commencing his career with Daifuku in 2010, Cory has worked across a diverse range of roles including business delivery, supply chain, engineering and sales. This formative background since led to Cory’s ascension into senior roles within the business, where he is recognized for his exceptional leadership. Cory’s role requires him to take end-to-end ownership of solution development, strategy, business development, project realization, and providing ongoing services and support for the intralogistics market.

About Daifuku Oceania

Founded in 1993 originally as BCS Group Ltd., the company joined the Daifuku Group in 2014 and rebranded to Daifuku Oceania in 2020. Daifuku Oceania is headquartered in New Zealand and also has offices in Australia.

Learn more

References:

Follow us on LinkedIn. View all posts

Contact Us

For product inquiries, please reach out to us via our Contact Us page.

Contact Us

BY TELEPHONE

Contact Us

For product inquiries, please reach out to us via our Contact Us page.

Contact Us(English)

BY TELEPHONE