特别采访

新年贺词—修订我们的经营理念—

智能物流,震撼人心。

“智能物流,震撼人心。”创建一个美好的和谐社会

Daifuku Co., Ltd.是物料搬运系统的行业引领者,该公司发布了新的经营理念:“智能物流,震撼人心。”在许多公司受到新冠疫情的影响,商业前景黯淡的情况下,大福敢于更新其公司经营理念,即经营基础。为此,我询问了下代博总裁兼首席执行官,为何大福会接受制定新经营理念的挑战及他对此的想法。

(采访人:日经BP咨询公司董事长 寺山正一)

总裁兼CEO 下代 博

在疫情肆虐的艰难时期,我更加认识到需要更新我们的经营理念

2021年4月,您启动了三年商业计划:Value Transformation 2023(以下简称“商业计划”)。您是什么时候开始考虑对大福的经营理念进行修改的?

我自己是在2020年下半年开始思考的,当时我们正在制定三年的商业计划,这次疫情让我感受到了制定计划的困难,但我觉得正是在这样的时代,我们更需要向前看。

当我们制定新的业务计划时,我们研究了影响我们业务的四项变化。首先是市场趋势:电子商务在全球范围内扩张,同时对自动化的需求也在增加。二是商业环境的变化:随着数字化转型的推进和新兴企业的崛起,尤其是在中国,竞争加剧,我们也必须做出改变。三是经营环境的变化:随着越来越多的非日本公司通过并购加入大福集团,加强治理变得更加必要。我们也在审查我们的模拟操作并加速数字化。四是社会环境的变化。这一变化意味着,除了提高利益相关者的参与度之外,通过我们的商业活动为社会做出贡献变得越来越重要。

大福整个公司要在这四个变化中持续发展,我们还必须考虑如何快速适应时代和社会的需求,以及如何在新常态下改革我们的工作方式。自上次修订以来已经过去了八年,特别是随着世界各地的变化和发展,我认为现在是修订公司经营理念的时候了。

大福最新品牌视频彰显集团全新经营理念

大福最新品牌视频彰显集团全新经营理念

您是如何理解新的经营理念“智能物流,震撼人心。”的?

大福的经营理念清楚地表达了我们的使命感和我们提供的价值。自动化物料搬运技术是我们业务的基础,也是我们竞争力的源泉。“inspire”一词表达了我们的信念,即通过各种商品的流动,人们的生活将变得更加丰富和便利,并且我们可以通过我们的业务为社会做出贡献。这一理念是所有物流相关人员的普遍概念。

我们重视的是将人们从繁重的劳动和简单的重复性工作中解放出来。机器人和机器可以支持繁重的重复性工作,从而使人们能够从事更具创造性的任务。尤其是在目前劳动力短缺的情况下,配送中心和工厂的运营必须以有限的工人数量进行。这也与尊重工人的人权有关。

在宣布新的经营理念的同时,我们将品牌口号更改为“Automation that Inspires(智能物流,震撼人心。)”。这句话不是直接翻译日语原文,因为直接翻译不能将必要的信息传达给说英语的人。我们是将日文“震撼人心”的意思仔细思考,并以物料搬运技术和自动化的角度来确定使用“Inspire”这个词语的。

正因为我们的产品被公认为是社会的基础设施,所以我们更要不断地挑战自我

我在做记者的时候,经常读你们的公关杂志《大福新闻》,作为我对工业领域研究的一部分,看到你们公司与2004年到2005年期间相比,显现出大规模增长,为此我感到很惊讶。

与那时相比,现在很多人都认识我们的公司名称,而物料搬运本身似乎也被视为社会基础设施的一部分而获得认可。因此,我们作为一家公司在销售和利润方面的责任变得更大,导致我们会思考如何维持这些数字。当然,这很重要,但与以前相比,主要挑战是将新产品推向世界的时代截然不同。

我们在日本和世界上创造了许多较为领先的产品。例如,1966年我们开发了日本较为领先的自动化仓库,1969年发展成为计算机在线控制的自动化仓库。1993年开发了世界上较为领先的带有非接触式电源的单轨输送系统,该系统已被汽车行业广泛采用,以提供无研磨粉的清洁环境。后来,我们将该技术应用于半导体和LCD行业的洁净室输送系统。我记得开发这些系统的工程师和销售部门的工程师是如何以极大的热情一起工作的。我们还开发了其他各种系统,与时俱进地发展它们的功能。近年来,我们一直在使用人工智能和物联网开发更先进的产品和服务。

我们的新经营理念融入了迎接新挑战的精神。

大福的DNA和创造新事物的精神一直保持到今天。

是的,我们通过汽车业务发展壮大,因此我们深知帮助客户工厂保持运转的重要性。汽车制造商在长假期间关闭生产线更新设备,但如果他们不能在假期后准备好设备运行,成千上万的员工将无所事事。出于这个原因,大福公司成员竭尽全力满足这些最后期限。除了汽车行业,在其他行业也是如此,这种遵守运营期限的做法赢得了我们客户的赞誉;因此,我们将这种 DNA 和思维方式融入我们的经营理念中,以迎接新的挑战。

大福可以为所有利益相关者做些什么?

下代 博

下代 博

1983年,下代博加入大福机工株式会社(现为大福)。加入公司后主要从事销售工作,2012年担任FA&DA运营事业部的企业负责人兼销售事业部总经理,2014年担任FA&DA董事总经理兼总经理,于2015年担任董事兼常务执行董事后, 2018年4月被任命为总裁兼CEO。

经营理念中提出了三项将其付诸实践的正确心态和方法。您能否谈谈第一项内容,“尽量减少对人和环境的负荷,尊重人权,履行社会责任,为实现可持续发展的社会做贡献“

除了将人们从繁重的重复劳动中解放出来的物料搬运使命之外,我们还融入了可持续性管理的要素,例如通过努力实现脱碳社会和关注生物多样性来有限度地减少对环境的负担。长期以来,我们一直致力于环境措施,滋贺工厂在我们的废水处理设施中建立了永久监控系统,以保持符合法律法规的水质。此外,在2013年,我们安装了一个可以产生4.4兆瓦的巨型太阳能发电设施,这大约是我们工厂所需电力的三分之一。我们计划在中国、泰国和印度在建的工厂安装类似的太阳能发电设施。我们将继续与我们的客户、供应商和当地社区密切合作,开展关注环境和人权的负责任的制造。

关于经营理念的第二项内容“真诚面对全球客户,提供创新技术和更适合、更优质的系统解决方案,实现智能物流。”我认为这一项内容已经实现了。

谢谢您的认可。我们的优势在于我们能够不畏艰辛地完成工作,基于我们渴望认真回应客户的需求并为他们提供竞争优势的愿望,我们长期以来与客户建立了长期的信任关系。然而,随着客户对我们的要求不断增加,为此我们绝不能接受现状。今后,我希望在整个大福公司都能理解和分享与客户建立信任关系的重要性,同时满足客户的期望,继续为客户提供智能物流服务。

您能否谈谈经营理念的第三项内容,即“营造尊重多元化、自由豁达的企业氛围,让每位员工都直面改革,不惧挑战。同时,公司还将不断强化管理基础,持续推进高度透明的国际化经营。”

我们拥有经过多年培育的自由开放的企业文化。我希望我们的员工充满热情地工作,勇于接受新的挑战,并且不用害怕失败。我认为这一点最为重要。此外,我们通过与利益相关者(包括我们的客户、与我们有业务往来的公司、合作伙伴公司和当地社区)建立联系,保持为实现健全社会做出持续贡献的立场。为此,我们在商业计划中提出了旨在“改变我们的提供价值”的观点。

我们努力引领物流未来,迎接创造新价值的挑战

最后,请您谈谈大福公司的未来前景。您认为物流行业未来还会继续增长吗?

我们现在比较关心的是在交付给家庭和消费者的时候,下一代物流是如何运作的。目前,很多企业正在公共道路上对无人机和自动驾驶车辆进行示范测试,但由于无人机的飞行存在各种风险,因此它们还需要一段时间才能投入实际应用并得到广泛应用。而且,这还涉及到法律问题。
我们的最终目标是让所有货物自动交付。这就像我小时候读过的科幻漫画书中的世界一样。从技术的角度来看,一个您传达您想要的东西,然后会有一架无人机将其从配送中心送到您家里的世界并不是做梦。

目前,物料搬运系统已成为社会基础设施的重要组成部分。我们将以前所未有的灵活性和创造性的想象力,以及改变现有框架的执行能力,思考未来“下一代物流将是这样的”、“我们可以这样做”,力争成为挑战创造新价值的企业。我们将继续引领物流的未来,同时为大福公司的可持续发展和创造可持续发展的社会做出贡献。

寺山正一和月城下代 博
Shoichi Terayama:1989年加入 Nikkei Business Publications, Inc.。在纽约担任记者后,从 2008年起担任 Nikkei Business 主编三年。

Special Interview

New Year’s Greeting —Revising Our Management Philosophy—

Automation that Inspires

Inspiring Society, Delivering Prosperity, and Enhancing Well-Being

Daifuku Co., Ltd., a world leader in material handling systems, has announced a new management philosophy: Automation that Inspires. At a time when many companies are at the mercy of the pandemic and struggle to envision the future of their business, Daifuku dares to renew its philosophy—the foundation of its management. We asked Hiroshi Geshiro, President and CEO, why Daifuku took on the challenge of formulating a new management philosophy and the thinking behind it.

(Interview by Shoichi Terayama, President, Nikkei BP Consulting, Inc.)

Hiroshi Geshiro, President and CEO

The pandemic as a sign of the need to renew our management philosophy

In April 2021, you launched your three-year business plan: Value Transformation 2023 (referred to below as the “business plan”). When did you start thinking about this revision of Daifuku’s management philosophy?

I, myself, began thinking about it in the latter half of 2020. At that time, we were in the process of formulating our three-year business plan, and the pandemic gave me a sense of the difficult it is to come up of coming up with a plan, but I felt that it was precisely in times like these that we needed to look ahead.

When we formulated the new business plan, we looked at four changes taking place that affect our business. The first is market trends: e-commerce is expanding globally, and at the same time, the need for automation is increasing. The second is change in our business environment: as competition intensifies due to the progress of digital transformations and the rise of emerging companies, especially in China, we must also change. The third is change in the operating environment: as more non-Japan companies join the Daifuku Group through mergers and acquisitions, strengthening governance has become even more necessary. We are also reviewing our analog operations and accelerating digitalization. The fourth is change in the social environment. This change means that, in addition to improving stakeholder engagement, contributing to society through our business activities has become increasingly important.

For the Daifuku Group to continue to grow sustainably amid these four changes, we must also consider how we can cater quickly to the demands of these changing times and of society, and how we can reform the way we work in our new normal. With eight years having passed since the last revision, and particularly with all the changes and developments around the world, we judged that now is the time to revise our management philosophy.

Daifuku’s latest brand video highlights the Group’s new management philosophy

Daifuku’s latest brand video highlights the Group’s new management philosophy

What thinking went into your new management philosophy, Automation that Inspires?

The Daifuku Group’s management philosophy clearly expresses our sense of purpose and the value we provide. Automated material handling technology is the foundation of our business and the wellspring of our competitiveness. The word “inspire” expresses our belief that people’s lives will be enriched and made more convenient by the movement of various goods, and that we can contribute to society through our business. This philosophy is a universal concept for all those involved in logistics.

What we value is freeing people from hard labor and simple repetitive tasks. Heavy lifting and repetitive work can be supported by robots and machines, thus enabling people to work on more creative tasks. Especially with the current labor shortage, distribution center and factory operations have to be carried out with a limited number of workers. This also ties in with respect for the human rights of workers.

We changed our brand message to “Automation that Inspires” at the same time that we announced our new management philosophy. This phrase is not a direct translation from the original Japanese since a direct translation would not convey the message to English speakers. "Inspire" is a reworking of the Japanese phrase, which is literally “moving the heart,” and was chosen from the perspective of what comes to pass when we move things and automate things through our technology.

Tackling challenges as an element of social infrastructure

When I was a reporter, I used to read your PR magazine, DAFUKU NEWS, as part of my research on the industrial sector, and I am surprised to see how your company has grown in scale since around 2004 or 2005.

Compared to those days, many people now recognize our company name, and material handling itself seems to be gaining recognition as being part of the societal infrastructure. As a result, our responsibility as a company when it comes to sales and profits has become greater, leading to thinking about how we maintain those numbers. Of course, this is important, but it is markedly different to the time when the main challenge was to bring new products to the world.

We have produced many firsts in Japan and the world. For example, in 1966, we developed Japan’s first automated warehouse, which in 1969 developed into an automated warehouse with online computer control. 1993 saw the development of the world’s first monorail conveying system with a non-contact power supply, which has been widely adopted by the automotive industry for providing a clean environment free of abrasive powder. We later applied this technology to cleanroom conveyance systems for the semiconductor and LCD industries. I recall how the engineers who developed these systems and those in the sales department worked on them together with great enthusiasm. We have also developed a variety of other systems, evolving their functions with the times. In recent years, we have also been developing more advanced products and services using AI and IoT.

Our new management philosophy incorporates the mindset of taking on new challenges.

Daifuku’s DNA and spirit of creating new things has been maintained to the present day.

Yes, we have grown through our Automotive business, so we are well aware of the importance of helping keep our customers’ factories running. Automobile manufacturers shut down their production lines during the long holidays to update their equipment, but if they can’t get the equipment ready for operation after the holidays, thousands of employees will have nothing do to. For this reason, Daifuku Group members go above and beyond to meet those deadlines. Beyond the automobile industry, in other industries as well, this adherence to operational deadlines has brought acclaim from our customers; so, we have incorporated this DNA and mindset to take on new challenges into our management philosophy.

What Daifuku can do for all its stakeholders

Hiroshi Geshiro

Hiroshi Geshiro

In 1983, Hiroshi Geshiro joined Daifuku Machinery Works Co., Ltd. (now Daifuku). Since joining the company, he has been engaged mainly in sales, and was appointed President and CEO in April 2018 after serving as corporate officer and general manager of the Sales Division of FA&DA Operations in 2012, managing director and general manager of FA&DA in 2014, and director and managing officer in 2015.

There are three points cited as the right mindset and approach by which to put your management philosophy into practice. The first is to “strive to realize a sustainable society that minimizes burdens on people and the environment, respects human rights, and encourages responsible manufacturing.” Can you tell us about this first point?

In addition to the mission of material handling, which is to free people from hard and repetitive labor, we have incorporated elements of sustainability management, such as minimizing the burden on the environment through efforts toward a decarbonized society and concern for biodiversity. We have been working on environmental measures for a long time and, at the Shiga Works, have established a permanent monitoring system at our wastewater treatment facilities, maintaining water quality in compliance with laws and regulations. In addition, in 2013, we installed a mega solar power generation facility that can generate 4.4 megawatts, which is about one-third of the electricity needed by our plant. We are planning to install similar solar power generation facilities at our plants under construction in China, Thailand, and India. We will continue to carry out responsible manufacturing with concern for the environment and human rights in close cooperation with our customers, suppliers, and local communities.

The second of the three points of the management philosophy is to “work together with customers around the world to create optimal smart logistics solutions that incorporate innovative technologies.” I believe that this has already been achieved.

Thank you very much. Our strength is in our ability to finish the job without shying away from the difficulties, and we have long been building long-term relationships of trust with our customers based on our desire to respond in earnest to their demands and provide them with a competitive advantage. However, as the demands placed on us by our customers continue to increase, we cannot afford to accept the status quo. The entire Daifuku Group understands and shares the importance of building a relationship of trust with customers as we meet their expectations, and we will continue to push forward in offering smart logistics services to them.

Can you speak to the third point, which is to “ensure a fair and open corporate culture that respects diversity and allows each individual to excel. Further, we will strengthen our fundamental management practices globally to have a high level of transparency”?

We have a free and open corporate culture, cultivated over the years. I want our employees to work with enthusiasm, and to take on new challenges without fear of failure. This is the most important thing. Moreover, we maintain our stance of making an ongoing contribution to the achievement of a sound society by connecting with stakeholders, which include our customers, companies we do business with, partner companies, and local communities. To this end, we have adopted a perspective of aiming to “transform the value we provide,” as stated in our business plan.

We strive to lead the future of logistics, taking up the challenge of creating new value

Finally, tell us about your future prospects. Do you think the logistics sector will continue to grow in the future?

What interests us now is what the next generation of logistics will look like in the area of delivery to homes and consumers. Demonstration tests are being conducted on drones and automated vehicles on public roads but, with the various risks involved in flying drones, it will take some time before they are put to practical use and become widely used. Issues such as legislation are also involved here.
The ultimate goal is to have all goods delivered automatically. It would be a world just like in the science fiction comic books I read as a child. But it’s not a technological fantasy to have a world where you can message about what you want and have a drone bring it from a distribution center to your home.

Today, material handling systems are an important part of societal infrastructure. Daifuku aims to be a company that takes on the challenge of creating new value by looking ahead to what the next generation of logistics will look like, and by looking ahead to what we can do. This requires flexible and creative thinking unconstrained by convention, and the ability to implement changes within the existing framework. We will continue to lead the future of logistics while contributing to the sustainable growth of the Daifuku Group and the creation of a sustainable society.

Shoichi Terayama and Hiroshi Geshiro
Shoichi Terayama: Joined Nikkei Business Publications, Inc. in 1989. After working as a correspondent in New York, he served as editor-in-chief of Nikkei Business for three years from 2008.